I don't yet know how good our talent is compared to the rest of the league, but I do like our new attitude. Colorado went into KC and not only won, but won convincingly. Now Sporting is not a good team this year, and the win should be taken in context, but this is a match that in past seasons the Rapids would have fumbled away points in, ore barely held on for a 2-1 win. Instead they put KC to the sword and poured it on to ensure the 3 points.
Random Thoughts:
- I was surprised hwen Fredrick got the start again based on his play last week. Then he went and scored what turned out to be the winning goal My bad, nice job Wayne.
- Speaking of, SKC's Pulskamp was livid about the goal and was sure he was fouled. A long VAR check showed....he wasn't even touched. I have no idea why VAR didn't see that in 5 seconds.
- That back heel on the first Rapids goal by Navarro was pretty. That was a wonderfully worked goal by the whole team.
- The SKC goal was some poor defense by Jackson Travis and poor keeping by Steffen. Travis got sucked way too far upfield and inside, leaving the right wing wide open and KC came right through that hole. Then Steffen got beat near post which is a no-no for a keeper.
- The Rapids struck right back with the Fredrick goal off a Sealy corner, with its on keeping blunder. This is another example of the attitude change, past Rapids teams would have moped their way into the halftime break at 1-1 instead of aggressively attacking.
- After half it was all Colorado. KC had one good look they hit right at Steffen at the hour mark and everything else was burgundy.
- Miguel Navarro set up Rafa Navarro on the third goal, even if he didn't get an official assist.
- Holding dodged a second yellow right before he was subbed off, but given that the first yellow was weak sending him for the second would have been harsh.
- In an otherwise strong night Navarro right after that should have picked up a second yellow and was very lucky he didn't. I think he's a better start than Travis but he can't make that mistake again.
- Colorado applied the coup de grace with pressure leading to a quick turnover and a through ball to Navarro that he crossed to Aaronson for the strike. Good, aggressive, play late in a a game that you're winning. A great attitude to see.
- Colorado is now beating the teams they should (Portland and SKC), being competitive (ish) against teams that they aren't expected to beat (Seattle, NTCFC0, and taking advantage of mistakes when better teams make them (Galaxy). That may not be a "win MLS Cup" combo but it is a "make the playoffs and be a tough out" combo, which is better than I expected going into the season.
- Sealy is lucky he got the assist from the corner on the second goal because otherwise he was the black mark on the night. We're still struggling to find the other winger across from Yapi.
- Colorado goes into the break in a good position, right on the "win at home, draw on the road" point total of 9. Coming out they've got a trip to Toronto and then finally back at home against Houston before the 30th anniversary Inter Messi match.
Man of the Match: Paxten Aaronson. The week after I complained we should put a BOLO out on him he gets two goals and an assist. Navarro had a great match too but Aaronson had his best day in burgundy (or green) so far and its what we need from him.

No comments:
Post a Comment